The Divine Spankin’…Signs of Jesus’ Love

Playing with electrical outlets was my thing when I was a baby. Who knows why! I just thank God that my mother loved me enough to know that she had to stop me or else she would not have, for too much  longer, a baby to love. As the story goes, this little outlet fetish of mine was the root of my first “whippin” as they say down south. My mom gave me a warning the first time she saw me  getting my playtime on with the intriguing device.  The second time, she had no choice but to serve me my premier spanking. I didn’t like it then, but I know now that my mother did it because she loved me. This brings us to our key text coming out of Proverbs 3:11 — 12 (KJV). The Word of the Lord reads:

11 My son, despise not the *chastening of the Lord, neither be weary of his correction; 12 For whom the Lord loveth he correcteth, even as a father the son in whom he delighteth.  

*to inflict suffering on someone in order to teach moral improvement

Sometimes, especially when we were growing up, we wished we could get away without punishment. However, if you ever wondered how you could know if the Lord really loves you, not being able to get away with a lick of anything is definitely a sign. Just as our earthly parents chastised us for immoral actions we committed, our Heavenly Father does the same thing — except He continues to do so for our whole lives. Don’t hate it. Just appreciate it. 😉 (I couldn’t resist saying that.) God knew walking the straight and narrow was no piece of cake when He told us to do so. We should be grateful that He loves us enough to help keep us on track.

Have a blessed day!

~

Ayvaunn Penn is an award-winning writer and the author of Ephemeral Moments, a book of poetry and short stories from the Christian perspective, available on Amazon.com in the fall of 2013. She is also the founder of Your Black Poets. To receive Ayvaunn’s daily Bible devotionals by email, click here. Click to follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

One response to “The Divine Spankin’…Signs of Jesus’ Love

  1. Hi, i feel that i noticed you visited my site
    so i came to return the favor?.I’m trying to to find things to enhance my site!I assume its ok to make use of a few of your concepts!!

Leave a Reply

