Tracy Morgan’s Father Died of AIDS

by Ayvaunn Penn, Your Black World

Recently the world lit on fire after Tracy Morgan made negative remarks about homosexuality in one of his shows. However, the comedian is out to make up for his actions. According to reports, Morgan agreed to accompany GLAAD to Nashville in order to rally against the “Don’t Say Gay” bill. He released the following statement to the public in apology for his anti-homosexual rant while also revealing a surprising fact about his own father:

“I know how bad bullying can hurt. I was bullied when I was a kid. I’m sorry for what I said. I didn’t mean it. I never want to use my comedy to hurt anyone. My family knew what it was like to feel different. My brother was disabled, and I lost my father to AIDS in 1987…. Parents should support and love their kids no matter what. Gay people deserve the same right to be happy in this country as everyone else. Our laws should support that.”

It appears that Morgan genuinely regrets saying his hurtful, feisty comments. We will see how well the public accepts his apology.

Ayvaunn Penn is a spoken word artist and an award winning writer completing her degree in English and philosophy. For more of her witty-word works click here. To have your original poetry featured by Ms. Penn on Your Black Poets, click here.

5 responses to “Tracy Morgan’s Father Died of AIDS

  1. It wasn’t the word it was the violence he condoned around the word, he would kill his son if her were Gay, and Gay people should be bullied…..etc. I used to be pro Black and screw everyone else until I saw Angela Davis speak and she talked about how people of color, women and gay people need to support each other because there are some of all of those in each group. She talked about how the Panthers were pro Black, male predominantly, NOW was pro White Women predominately and no one was pro Gay anything. She said for one minority group to justify disenfranchisement of another was anti what civil rights is about. Right now this isn’t a black issue except that it is a Black man demeaning Gay people.

    • Yes, I agree with you 100%!!! It’s strange how the oppressed has become the oppressor without any thought of where they’ve come from. We all must stand against injustice of any kind; Jesus did!!!!!

  2. I hope your issues with homosexuality isn’t some unhealed violation that you never addressed. Most men blame their rape on a gay man. But if they honestly look back at who the predictor was they would see that he lived his life as a heterosexual. Oprah had a show for men and their violators were mostly straight. If your parent died from the virus 1987 I know the shame an isolation your family dealt with. I was street out reach counselor in the high risk population in those days. The ignorance and hostility was so unkind then that families didn’t talk about the pain. I wonder if your comments were connected to the hurt you haven’t correctly dealt with. I still like you brother but I’m very disappointed in how far you went with the jokes. I’m a gay black fat woman and I laugh at jokes about all kinds of people even if I identify with the punch line. But you need to be more responsible to how far you go.. You can’t stay healthy and live long if you carry so much negativity in your body it will affect that Kidney!!! Glad that you found it in your heart to apologize hate is never a good thing for anybody.

Leave a Reply

